Obtaining a Police Report

Copies of reports taken by the University of Georgia Police Department are available from the Records Division, usually within three (3) business days of the date the report was taken. Copies of reports may be picked up in person, mailed or faxed. At this time, reports are not available through e-mail. Report fees must be paid prior to the information being mailed or faxed.

The Police Department is located at:

286 Oconee Street,
Suite 100 South,
Athens, GA 30602.

You may contact the Records Division by telephone at (706) 542-5813.

Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.


Records Division Fee Information

Item

Unit

Price Per Unit

Incident Reports

Page

$0.10

Private Property Vehicle Accident Reports

Page

$0.10

CAD Printouts

Page

$0.10

Miscellaneous Documents

Page

$0.10

State Motor Vehicle Accident Reports

Report

$5.00

Mail/Fax Services

Report

$1.00

Audio Recordings

CD/DVD

$15.00

Video Recordings

CD/DVD

$15.00

Photos (CD)

CD/DVD

$5.00

Photos (Printed - Color)

Page

$3.00

Expungement Processing

Packet/Process

$50.00

The items shown above may require additional fees based on the need for redaction. Please refer to the additional information below for further information.

Additional Redaction Fees*

If reports or other documentation require a review for redaction purposes prior to release, the following graduated fee schedule will apply.

Number of Pages

Unit

Price Per Unit

2 Pages or Less

Page

$0.10

3 to 5 Pages

Page

$0.25

6 to 10 Pages

Page

$0.35

11 to 15 Pages

Page

$0.45

For requests falling in subsequently higher five page increments, an additional $.05 per page for the total page count will be assessed.

*The additional fees specified are to cover the administrative fees for retrieval, copying and redaction, as well as the actual fees associated with mailing / faxing. Such fees are permissible in accordance with O.C.G.A. 50-18-71.

**The University of Georgia Police Department accepts cash and money orders as forms of payment. We are currently not able to accept credit / debit cards as forms of payment. The fees shown above have been set by the University of Georgia Police Department in accordance with O.C.G.A 50-18-71, commonly known as the Georgia Open Records Law. In reference to State Motor Vehicle Accident Report requests, anyone other than parties listed in the report will be required to submit a statement of need prior to receiving the report, pursuant to O.C.G.A 50-18-72.

For true emergencies please Dial 911 immediately

Line

For non-emergencies we can be reached at 706-542-2200